## Metros capture IHSHL tourney championship

OMAHA — Chresten Jensen figured in all of Sioux City's scoring as the Metros claimed the Iowa High School Hockey League tournament championship with a 3-2 win over the Omaha Junior Lancers here Sunday.

The last time the Metros won the tournament title was following the 1994-95 season.

Jensen put Sioux City on the board first with a red-lighter at the 1:27 mark of the first period.

The Jr. Lancers, however, answered with two first period scores to take a 2-1 lead. Nick Sandi's shot three minutes into the opening stanza pulled Omaha into a 1-1 tie and Clint Faust put the Junior Lancers ahead with a red-lighter at 7:46.

Sioux City's Greg Gill evened the score at 2-2 with a second-period goal at 1:26, getting assists from Nick Mills and Jensen. Jensen and Willie Persinger recorded assists on Clint Stiles' game-winner at the 12-minute mark.

Metros netminder Jake Hindermann blanked the Junior Lancers during the final two periods and stopped a total of 27 shots in the game.

Sioux City hiked its record to 21-8 with the championship game win, while the fifth-seeded Junior Lancers ended with a  $17-12^{i}$  mark. The Omaha club blanked No. 1-seeded Des Moines 3-0 in the semifinals.

Hindermann and Gill were named Matt Fryar.

co-winners of the tournament most valuable player award.

Sioux City had three all-state selections in Kyle Worner, Persinger and Mills, while Jensen and Hindermann were given honorable mention all-state laurels.

Worner, Mills, Persinger and Jensen were named to the 20member Chicago Showcase team, an all-star unit that will play in a tournament later this month.

Academic all-state selections, those maintaining grade point averages of 3.0 or higher, for Sioux City were Adam Feist, Jake Hindermann, Chresten Jensen, Robbie Lessard, Nick Mills, Will Persinger, Brent Sanders, Clint Stiles, Matt Tonjum and Kyle Worner.

Sioux City's junior varsity academic all-staters were Chad Blanche, Ben Gill and Chris McCline.

## Summary

First period: 1, Sioux City — Chresten Jensen (Dusty Browning) 1:27: 2. Omaha — Nick Saldi (Joe Zoylut, Ryan Fitzpatrick) 3:00: 3. Omaha — Cint Faust (J.R. Nano, Mike Kempkes) 7:48. Penalhies: Womer, SC, 3:43; Konecky, O, 5:03; LeGree, SC, 5:08; Kempkes, O, 12:44.

Second period: 4, Sioux City — Greg Gill (Nick Mills, Jensen) 1:26; 5, Sioux City — Cint Stiles (Will Persinger, Jensen) 12:00. Penalties: Kempkes, O, 4:04; Womer, 8:33; Mills, SC, 12:51.

Third period: No scoring. Penalties: Markey, O, 2:27; LeGree, SC, 5:32.

.1 2 0 - 3

Score by periods: Sioux City......

Shots on goal:		0-2
		6 - 26
	0 9	9 - 28
Goaltenders: Jake Hindermann,	Sioux	City: Brett
Roth, Omaha.		
Referee: Mike Jones Linesman.	Kevin	McDonald

Referee: Mike Jones. Linesmen: Kevin McDonald, Matt Fryar.